What I learned from attending Dr. Steve Harvey conference “Act like a success”

In January when I had my first vision of turning my love of writing into a full time commitment I can honestly say I didn’t know what I was doing. All I knew was I had a crazy imagination and loved to write out stories that popped in my head. I watched countless people on Periscope and never felt like they understood me, until I found Mrs. Christine St. Vil. From her first periscope I watched I knew she understood me and would be able to relate to my journey. One night in February while watching she mentioned Steve Harvey conference “Act Like A Success” and stated we should check it out. From the minute I researched the conference I knew I was going. They were offering a discount until the end of March so I saved until I could afford the VIP tickets that would ensure I would meet all the keynote speakers. A couple of  weeks after finding out about the conference I had saved enough to purchase the tickets but it was sold out. I was so discouraged and upset that I had missed out on such a great opportunity. Sure they had plenty of general session tickets available but that’s not what I wanted. After thinking it over I decided that even though it’s not what I hoped for I would purchase the general tickets and still try to get the most out of the conference. I am proud to say I am beyond happy I purchased my ticket that day!!

The conference was an amazing, incredible, soul searching take me to church while tears roll down my face experience. I went to this conference not knowing who I would meet or if I would meet anyone. I walked in with gigantic butterflies in my stomach and wondering if I had actually made the right choice. The room was decorated so beautiful and everyone looked so professional, I didn’t feel like I fit in. But from the moment I sat down and begin to network with my peers and listen to all the keynote speakers I knew I was definitely where I belonged!! Here are just four things I learned from going to the conference.

Be authentic in everything you do

One of the things that every keynote speaker had in common was they were transparent in speaking of their journey to sucess. No one stood up there and tried to pretend that success came easy and without hardwork. Every single person had to go through something in order to reach their breakthrough so we shouldn’t give up when the road gets rough.

It’s ok to ask for help

So many times I have felt like asking for help is a sign of weakness but it’s not. No matter how hard you work without a great team of people behind you it’ll be hard to be successful without burning out. Whether it’s from a coach or from networking with other people in your field never feel bad about seeking help.

It’s ok to say No

This one is a biggie for me. I have such a hard time telling people no when it comes to their needs but seem to always say no to my own needs. I’m a people pleaser by nature so learning to say no to some situations will be hard for me but essential for my career growth. I learned at the conference that every situation that comes your way may not be a good match for your business. Sometimes no matter how good it seems you have to stay true to yourself and say no in order for something better to come to you.

If you stay ready you don’t have to get ready

So shamefully I must admit I was not as prepared as I should have been at the conference. The first question everyone I met asked was “Do you have a business card I can have?” and I had to stupidly say no. Yes I read the email that said bring your business cards but in my mind I’m thinking I’m not established enough to have business card, wrong!! No matter what level I’m at in my career I still need something to show where I’m at in life right now. I can’t wait until I’m “established” before I’m prepared to network with others, I need to live in the present.

I learned so much more at the conference but those are just four of the things that stuck out to me. Going to this conference has ignited a fire in me to strive for the best, accomplish it and then strive for even better. Never give up on getting more and doing more. Every single person who spoke at the conference was nothing short of an inspiration and I would recommend everyone to start saving now so that you won’t miss out on next years!! I definitely plan to be in the number again!!

 

 

Leave a comment